So, as I advertised on facebook last night, I had a big scare. Not so happy about it still this morning. I had to have a coffee, because my night got so messed up and I was already tired, needed the caffeine boost to help me.
Alright, so as you know, I have the house to myself most nights, Rick works until midnight. At first I was scared to be on my own in a big house, with lots of noise, crazy neighbours, barking dogs and who knows what else? Maybe even monsters under the bed and aliens coming through the walls. I even had nightmares about a plane crashing on the house once, or an earthquake swallowing my house and my house only. I am an anxious little girl, I know.
After a while, I've stopped getting up every 5 minutes to make sure the door was locked at night, I've gotten used to going to bed and falling asleep in an empty house. I mean, I still lock the door as soon as I close it, even during the day, even when Rick is there. I can't count how many times I've locked him outside while he was having a smoke, because I'd just happen to walk by the door and I would lock it, just out of habit. He'd instantly knock on the door before I walked away, shaking his head at me. And there was the one time, last summer, where he was mowing the lawn, and I locked the door, totally unconsciously, and then proceeded to go wash my hair. Imagine this, a very hot July day, he's locked outside sweating, with no keys, no wallets and worse of all, no cigarettes. I was in the shower, then drying my hair, then getting ready in my room with music, none of the rooms having windows, and not hearing the doorbell. It was when I went in the basement, that I heard him knocking on the window. I felt horrible, and I think he will never let me forget the time where I locked him outside in the sun for about 90 minutes....
But I got carried away, I just wanted to tell the tale of last night, why I'm a bit grumpy and oh so tired.
So last night was regular business, some laundry, dishes, watched 2 Vampires Diaries episodes (That show is so damn worth it!!! So different than the books, I love both and it feels like 2 different stories) dyed my hair then read a bit in bed. I was asleep by 10pm probably. Then I awoke in panic mode shortly before midnight and I hear Jack running into my room and my doorbell going crazy. Not like someone ringing the doorbell, like someone pressing the damn button 3 times in a row " D-ding-Dding-D-ding" And for Jack to run into hiding in my room, somebody probably knocked before too.
My first reaction, texting Rick "Somebody is ringing the doorbell" in my half-awake state, I thought maybe it could be him, back early from work and trying to get in. But then again, it's not possible, if he didn't have his keys, how would he drive home? Didn't make sense. So I'm officially scared now. There is no way in hell I'm going to open the door in the middle of the night, even if there is a baseball bat by the door. If it was anyone I knew at the door, they would have called before, right? But who the heck knows where I live? And in the absolutely-no-one list of people who knows where I live, who wouldn't have the decency to announce their late arrival and most importantly who doesn't know I work super early therefore am in bed by 10pm?
It took less than a minute for all of that to go through my mind, while Rick replied, no questions asked, that he'd be home in less than 10 minutes. I think that his prompt uncomplicated response is what kept me from panicking. I couldn't figure out who could be at the door. All the lights were off, there was no car in the driveway, the house was quiet, even the crazy-stupid neighbours had been behaving tonight and were fairly quiet. Knowing that Rick was on his way to protect me, that's totally the way I decided to see it, (I know I've watched too many Smallville episodes) I ventured out of my room. Didn't turn on any lights, tip-toeing downstairs, I was almost holding my breath. I scare easily.
All I could see was red light through the glass door and from the crack in the curtains. Red light? Was that the cops? By staying close to the wall I decided to go peek in the window, the living-room window, not the door. There was a car in my driveway, barely, as it was kinda park backwards, but on the side, kinda blocking our driveway and the neighbours (the non-crazy ones). It didn't seem to be the cops, and there was no sign to show if it was a delivery guy or something (as Rick thinks it was). The car just left as I stood watching from a corner of the window. I couldn't even see the perosn in the car.
I will probably never know who the heck that was, at first I thought it must be crazy friends of the crazy neighbours, but they never went there, just to my door. If they tried, I would have known, as the 3 big dogs bark like crazy all the time when someone shows up at their door, even them. Sometimes they even bark at me, from the window when I'm walking to my door.
Rick did show up a couple minutes later, I had retreated back to my room after checking the door was locked and turning off the outside light, but there's no way I was even attempting to pretend I was going back to sleep until he got home. I heard his car, but I waited for him to rush to the door and unlock it before I could be sure it was him and just bolted down the stairs. I felt like I was 12 years-old, the first thing out of my mouth was " I didn't dream it, I didn't make it up, Jack was scared too and we saw a car" He took a few minutes to comfort me by telling me it was OK, he was here now and I'd be OK. It's almost embarrassing, but he's used to it, he sees me shriek regularly and point out bugs or spiders for him to kill and I'm not even going to talk about all the stupid crying when watching a movie or TV that I do.
Such a simple little thing, but it did freak me out. I was able to go back to sleep quickly after that but then my alarm waking me up 5 hours later didn't make me happy. I had to have a coffee and a couple of advils to make sure I'd survive my day.
*More Advils later*
So that was my adventure, I have a unique talent for making a big deal out of little things hehe
This is going to be my little refuge, my very own "Fortress of Solitude". Welcome to my world!!!
Wednesday, March 2, 2011
Tuesday, March 1, 2011
When you got nothing nice to say....
Not sure if this exactly translates like this.... But I'm in that kind of mood. I am super happy, so many great thing on the horizon, but today, specifically today, I feel tired and grumpy. I have 0 patience, so thank god it's a quiet day at work.
I've noticed that ever since I started working from home on Fridays and Mondays, Tuesdays are a bit of a struggle. Maybe it's all about getting back to the daily routine, the lack of sleep or simply to getting back to the office part that gets to me. I think it's the people. I usually enjoy most of my team's company and when I don't, I'm good at blocking everything out and minding my own business.
Today is worse. Maybe it's all the cleaning and stressing from this weekend, maybe it's this cold, add that to me being tired and answering obvious questions all day, and you get a very grumpy Milou. You can only guess what's happening because I'm keeping to myself today, minding my own business, not talking unless spoken to. I can't afford to go off on anyone at work, I love my job. I'm even trying to be very quiet on facebook, as some friends of mine are annoying the crap outta me with their stupidity/ignorance.
(I can say that here because there is no way in hell the person(s) I'm talking about would take the time to read this here, remember the no.1 reason that I get annoyed at people is selfishness, so they won't read this for sure. So, to my 2 1/2 readers, don't take offense, I don't mean you.)
And just in case, I won't go into details of who annoys me and why. I'm not here to vent, not really anyways.
Back to positive stuff, even though I keep repeating it and repeating it over and over again. There is 186 days left until I leave for my trip in Greece, and I have officially paid for half of it already. That's pretty awesome, makes me proud!
Today also marks the day where I have quit smoking for 8 weeks. 2 months already. I haven't cheated, haven't craved it too much, all's well, awesome decision I made.
Also, very exciting news, my mom is visiting me!!! Yup, she is flying in Friday night and will be staying until next thursday. I am very excited and very ready hehe.
The very same day she told me of her plans, Sunday, I set out to Walmart and bought a Queen-size airbed, a comforter, pillow cases, sheets, made sure she'd have non-instant coffee (I drink tea), and rasberry flavored water. The rest can be bought and planned and organised little by little in the next few days. I have been working very hard in getting my house cleaned to my taste, which luckily I has started on my own on Friday, as a pre-spring cleaning type of thing.
I planned our weekend in Toronto, booked the Hotel, train tickets, planned my bus tickets, booked some time-off and schedules at work, booked a show, planned everything for a good easy time the entire weekend. And the rest of the week at my house, I have a fairly good idea on what to do and what else needs to be planned. Only 3 sleeps left :)
I can't wait !!!
I've noticed that ever since I started working from home on Fridays and Mondays, Tuesdays are a bit of a struggle. Maybe it's all about getting back to the daily routine, the lack of sleep or simply to getting back to the office part that gets to me. I think it's the people. I usually enjoy most of my team's company and when I don't, I'm good at blocking everything out and minding my own business.
Today is worse. Maybe it's all the cleaning and stressing from this weekend, maybe it's this cold, add that to me being tired and answering obvious questions all day, and you get a very grumpy Milou. You can only guess what's happening because I'm keeping to myself today, minding my own business, not talking unless spoken to. I can't afford to go off on anyone at work, I love my job. I'm even trying to be very quiet on facebook, as some friends of mine are annoying the crap outta me with their stupidity/ignorance.
(I can say that here because there is no way in hell the person(s) I'm talking about would take the time to read this here, remember the no.1 reason that I get annoyed at people is selfishness, so they won't read this for sure. So, to my 2 1/2 readers, don't take offense, I don't mean you.)
And just in case, I won't go into details of who annoys me and why. I'm not here to vent, not really anyways.
Back to positive stuff, even though I keep repeating it and repeating it over and over again. There is 186 days left until I leave for my trip in Greece, and I have officially paid for half of it already. That's pretty awesome, makes me proud!
Today also marks the day where I have quit smoking for 8 weeks. 2 months already. I haven't cheated, haven't craved it too much, all's well, awesome decision I made.
Also, very exciting news, my mom is visiting me!!! Yup, she is flying in Friday night and will be staying until next thursday. I am very excited and very ready hehe.
The very same day she told me of her plans, Sunday, I set out to Walmart and bought a Queen-size airbed, a comforter, pillow cases, sheets, made sure she'd have non-instant coffee (I drink tea), and rasberry flavored water. The rest can be bought and planned and organised little by little in the next few days. I have been working very hard in getting my house cleaned to my taste, which luckily I has started on my own on Friday, as a pre-spring cleaning type of thing.
I planned our weekend in Toronto, booked the Hotel, train tickets, planned my bus tickets, booked some time-off and schedules at work, booked a show, planned everything for a good easy time the entire weekend. And the rest of the week at my house, I have a fairly good idea on what to do and what else needs to be planned. Only 3 sleeps left :)
I can't wait !!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)