Monday, August 29, 2011

So say we all!

Riiiight. My resolutions of updating this place more didn't really work out now did it? To be honest, I have been starting posts pretty much every week, but never got to finish them or got delayed so much that I lost my train of thoughts. (But to be fair, no one is anxiously waiting to to read what I have to say hehe)

Work has been somewhat busy. There is always something to do, or rather, there is always something that I am working on. Even very quiet days turn into busy days for me, especially while making lists or making sure I thought of everything for my trip. Planning a trip is exhausting and you'd think I wouldn't have that much to do since I've been buying stuff and making lists since January. Well, I do. But right now it's mainly last minute stuff that I still have to take care of. I even packed my suitcase, twice this weekend. I know I'll empty it and re-verify it once, at least, before departure, but still, I think I'm ready.

Ok, I have been babbling about this trip since December, I can't wait and I'm ready, but it's a whole other story to realize there is less than a week to go. I'm leaving Sunday Morning... I've lost the excitement and the jumping around factor, I switched to panic mode. I think about it being so close and my heart starts pounding, my breathing accelerates and I sometimes gets dizzy, not to mention sick to my stomach. I'm not sure why. I assume it's good anxiety, as I'm not scared and this is a lifetime dream, but still, part of me whishes I could get back to the happy state I was in a couple weeks ago.

It'll be ok, I got it all figured out. I got my transport shuttle picking me up at home Sunday (I caved, it's vacation, let's spend money, I didn't work all that OT all summer just for kicks), then I'll be super early to the airport, check-in, security, then chilling (Having a beer or 5, I'll pretend I'm on Greece time already) then it's a direct flight. No hassle or worries there, 1 plane, 2 meals, lots of booze, I got all my "comfort kit", I'm getting one on the plane, it's a big-ass plane, and I have my Kindle/Ipod/Dvd player to keep me busy. And I have to sleep (that's where the booze will be helpful) since it's technically an overnight flight if you count the time change. Luckily, I have never been afraid to fly. I'm certainly not a big fan of turbulence (I remember a bad Florida flight) or flying overnight, (It's kinda creepy and the lights on the plane confuse me that there's a storm outside) but overall I'm fine. I'm more scared of crossing a street with no pedestrian sign than flying. (I know I got issues, sue me :P)

I have organized a meeting with the people from my trip I've ben in touch with online, so we all get to meet before the official meeting that evening. We'll be spending most of the day together, walking around, having a drink, letting the feeling that "we're finally here, we're in Greece" feeling truly sink in. So I don't even have to worry about walking in a room full of strangers by myself, I'll have new friends with me. But, as I've mentioned before, when in unknown territory and by myself, this new confident Milou comes out and leaves the shy Marilou at home. I'll probably be going around the room introducing myself and making new friends before long. I have this image of me walking around right beside our guide/Tour Manager everyday, asking questions and trying to help and keeping people in line. So very me. But it won't happen, I'll probably be asking questions and participating all the time, can't repress my personnality that much, but I want to feel on vacation, so I'm there to have fun, make new friends and take it all in. Greece, it's hard to believe....

I should also mention I know for a fact I will be crying during this trip. And I don't mean a drunken cry, no drama and no homesickeness either lol. I mean, when I truly realize I made it, probably when I get off the plane or the airport (probably when I see my name on a sign at the airport) or after I've checked in the hotel and set foot outside on my own and take a good look around me. Maybe even still while flying, before landing and looking down to see this very ancient, yet still new to me landscape, the one I've been studying and dreaming of for as long as I can remember. I have to see it all, do it all and bring back with me as many memories and pictures and souvenirs as possible. This trip has to last me a lifetime. And I'm sure it will.

Alright, back to doing research (and work), I'll try to come and vent more about my stress later on this week.

So say we all!

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

25 is here!!!

Yes, indeed, 25 days to go until my trip. I know most of my friends and family are just DYING for me to go and come back so that I can finally stop talking about it. I know I'm annoying, but I'm just SO excited.

And to top it off, yesterday I received my package with all my trip info. All the vouchers for the hotels, plane tickets, everything in a nice little document holder thingy, that will be very useful. Gotta admit, I screamed when I got it. They actually dropped it in my mailbox, Rick found it when he went for a smoke and luckily, I was working from home yesterday. He waited for me to be between calls and just casually put it on my desk!  I jumped up (ouch! my back) and screeched. I was so anxious to open it, it took almost an hour until I had time to start going through all the stuff. Stupid busy mondays at work haha.

Like I've said before, I think I'm ready. All the stuff I wanted/needed has all been taking care of. I even ordered 2 extra batteries and memory cards for my camcorder off of Ebay, just in case I should need more. I need several to sustain my camcorder/camera and also the party camera at night. If I'm only going to go to Greece once in my life, hell I want to remember it all. I'll try not to spend the whole trip looking through my camera, but with the camcorder, it'll be easy to do both :)

My life has pretty muchc been revolving around my trip lately. Shopping and organizing, going on a new diet to lose the couple pounds I wanted to (6 so far, 2 to go), that's pretty much my routine, plus the talking to new friends onlien that will share my experiences on my trip. Of course there is still the regular stuff as well, cleaning/cooking and all, a couple movies here and there, an I am having a Battlestar Galactica marathon, when I have time, I'm at Season 3 now. God I love that show!

Speaking of movies!!! The Glee movie comes out this Friday!!! Wooooohooooooooo! I'm so excited! I'll go watch it next Friday, as I took a vacation day for my bday (can't stand to work on that day, people can be so annoying in the office, pranks and balloons and stuff, no thanks!) so it's the perfect bday gift for me!

Thursday, August 4, 2011

I'll have 2 egg chicken please!!!

You're probably wondering, what the.... Haha! That's another proof of how dub I am sometimes, or how tired I have been this week.  I was at Timmies, and I was waiting to order some egg salad wraps, and on the menu it says Wraps: Egg/chicken salad.... So, yeah, when I was up there, I proudly announced that I wanted Egg Chickens.... Fun times!!

Alright, today is THE day. It's a month before my trip... I'll be at the airport at this exact time in 30 days....

It's weird, because I am getting nervous already. I so want to make sure I am ready and have everything I need. I'm getting lots of Euros (as soon as I have enough money I go change it, rolling my change and all) I have a brand-new credit card, I have new clothes, getting contacts and sunglasses, got my shots (still got the bruises to prove it) my hotel and transport is paid for, bought bags and bags of useless and usefull travel stuff from the Dollar store, ordered more on Ebay, airfare was paid for with my trip.... Like I even photocopied my passport and left a copy with my boss, with Rick and a couple to keep with me... I prepare, a lot and in advance lol. It helps me not to go crazy counting down the days, it keeps me busy.

I have been trying to update here all week. I had tons of things to talk about. So, of course, now I can't remember any of it. It has been super busy at work, vacation time so it's reduced staff and we are swamped with calls, French staff is down too, most days it's just me and someone else, as opposed to our usual 4, so it's hard. But I'd rather be busy than have nothing to do, so I'm not really complaining. I'm just tired. I've been working a bit too much overtime in the past couple weeks, but once again, it's all for the trip, making sure I can spend as much as I want to.... :)

Alright, back to work, I'll try to update again before next week.

Monday, August 1, 2011

7 months and still going strong.

wow!

I should be ashamed. Ashamed I say. I have left this little place go lonely for so long. I really need to get better at this, and I will do my best.

Alright, the usual update, On Thursday, it will be 7 months exactly since I quit smoking. I haven't craved, or cheated, or anything like that. I am done, happy about and have no regrets or hesitations at all.

As for the big trip, 33 days left until departure. Ain't that totally awesome? It is. It's hard to believe since it feels like yesterday that I had like 235 days or something. Now I feel like I am going to run out of time. I shoul receive all my info and my plane tickets within the next 10 days or so.

Everything is paid for, including the hotel for my 3 days by myself after the tour, transport to and from the airport in Athens, and an optional Hop-on hop-off tour. Rick will by picking me up at the airport when I come back, and I'm still trying to figure out how to get to the airport. I dont want to impose on Rick by asking him to drive me there, I don't really want to pay 90$ for Airways transit and I don't want to take the public transport.. It'll take over 2 1/2 hours and I will have to carry my big suitcase and bags and transfer twice.... Although it'll be under 15$..... Still pondering on that one...

Sad note is that there were major changes to my itin a couple months back. The cruise company cancelled, you guessed it, my days in Israel and Egypt. I was pretty bummed at first, but they totally made it up to us. They added 3 new destinations, Santorini (!!!) Izmir and Kasudasi (The Epheseus!!!!) And if that didn't made me happy enough (which it does) they knocked off 100$ off the prize of the cruise, added a 50$ voucher on the ship and even added a couple of optional tour/activities for free. That was pretty kool!

On a happy note: I started to find some friends online. Ok, that sounded lame. I mean that I found some tourmates online, we even have a Facebook page now. (Yes, that makes us badass :P) I found 3 other people that are on the exact same trip as I am, and a bunch of other people for the first part of my trip, which is completely awesome. (I think i say "Totally" and "awesome" way too much...) I can't wait to meet new friends :)   I especially hope I'll run into someone on the plane/airport, it's a long flight from Toronto and it'd be nice to have someone with me, it'd be less intimidating once in Athens... Although, I have always been more at peace by myself when travelling, it is so liberating, it's hard to explain.. :)

Work was crazy today, it took me all day to write this lame little entry, but it's a start. I will try to have more to say tomorrow....