Friday, February 18, 2011

2011 so far...

Let's start with the obvious, 197 days left until departure. I know I am driving everyone crazy by talking about my trip constantly, but I don't care. I am happy and I can't wait, and I'll say it as many times as I want.

My 2011 resolution. I don't think I've really been serious about making a resolution at New Year's before, I've mainly only stated stuff I wish would happen. This year was different. The last few months of 2010 were pretty tough on me, work-related, and then with the fantastic summer I had in Quebec as well, I needed to get my priorities straightened out. It all came down to me formulating  a resolution shortly before midnight: My main focus in 2011 is going to me, I am going to become the most important person in my life. If you know me at all, you know this was a big step for me. And no, my resolution was not to quit smoking, I knew I would be able to do it, and my deadline was January 4th, when I would come back in Ontario. (Lots of people have asked me if it was a resolution and that I wasn't able to do it at midnight... Who is crazy enough to quit smoking in a middle of a drinking party? Not me for sure)

Anyways, so far so good. I have felt more at peace this year so far than I have in a long time. I quit smoking, I pretty quit drinking caffeine, I changed and modified my attitude at work, revised my priorities and made some big decisions about my life, not to be constantly torn between 2 provinces. It was a bit sad to say Good-Bye to everyone in Quebec, but if I ever want to adapt to life here, I have to give it a real shot here. My family understood and said they would visit. As for friends, well I explained it differently, I said I was saving every penny for my trip in September and wouldn't have much vacation days left, I'd save my last week for Xmas. I was very disappointed to see that most of them didn't get it, as it took only a couple weeks until I had facebook messages asking me when I was coming back.... But I decided to see it as a way to express that they miss me. Let's see if anybody visits me this year...

I moved here November 1st, 2008, little more than 2 years ago. I've had my brother sleep over my house 1 night the first summer, on his way back to  from Niagara Falls and then I had a couple friends stay over at my house this summer, on our road-trip to Canada Wonderland. (I won't go into this one, as it really didn't go as well as planned and I'm still a bit sad about it) But the point is, that's really not a lot. I almost felt I had to force those 2 visits. That's also part of the reason why I am trying not to go back to Quebec this year. Saving the money is a good excuse, but my life is here now, people who want to be in it have to come and see what it's like :P I'm rambling, it's early and I haven't had my tea yet. Speaking of, is that the kettle yelling at me?

Back. aaaaah, Vanilla tea, it makes me sooooo happy.

A little more on the Ontario vs Quebec dilemma. Deep down inside, I want to go back. Not desperately enough to just drop everything and run away, but eventually, when opportunity arise, I think I will go back. There is nothing really that keeps me here. My house? It's a lease, until we buy a house, I can leave whenever I want, and I keep stalling on the buying. My job? Well we have work-from-home capacities, so if I really really wanted, I'm pretty sure I could convince them to let me go. But I would rather wait for opportunities, who knows what's for me in the future. Let's wait and see. I am single, unattached, so it should be easy for me. But it's not. What really keeps me here? Rick. I won't go into details here, it might not even be for the reasons you think/suspect, but he is my best friend and I am not leaving him behind for just any reason. So, until, I am offered to go back and it is worth it, I am staying right here. And that also includes not going back all the time for weekends, not only is it expensive but it is also hard to find my place. So here is where I am and that's where I'll be for the next while. And I'll be making the best of it.

I do not want to talk about work too much or in too many details, but I gotta share this epic moment. I really did say, in a meeting, that I wasn't here to make friends but to get things done. hahahahahhaha. I still can't believe I said that. I didn't mean it in a rude way, we were comparing results of a "behavior" profile tests thingy, and mine was very different than everybody else. Let's say everybody had a big "Social" aspect as a priority, when mine was underground. Don't get me wrong, I am bubbly and nice and love people, but when it comes to work, my number 1 priority is the Service/Customer, not making sure everybody is happy with each other. Anyways, a little big off topic, but I had to share it. Made me proud that I was able to explain myself so clearly, without any fear of rejection or judgement.

Anyways, that was a little insight at what's going on in my head, which is probably a nice change from my talking constantly about my trip. (You should see me researching for 2012, can't make up my mind between London-Paris-Rome or going to Australia.......)

Alrighty, TGIF people, Enjoy!

No comments:

Post a Comment